National Philanthropy Day

Join us on October 15 to celebrate the diverse forms and faces of philanthropy in Minnesota. National Philanthropy Day (NPD) is a special day set aside to promote philanthropy and recognize individuals, organizations and businesses that are inspiring change through their significant impact on nonprofit organizations. The NPD Program is our annual, signature event at which people representing businesses, nonprofits, philanthropists, and volunteers come together to celebrate our vibrant philanthropic community.

Friday October 15th, 2021 | Hilton Downtown Minneapolis
11:30am – Registration and Social Time
12:30pm – Luncheon, Keynote Address, and Awards
2:00pm – Community-Centric Fundraising (CCF) Principles Workshop
3:30pm – Networking Happy Hour

COVID Protocol
Due to additional safety precautions, space is limited at this event. Please register early to help us plan accordingly. Masks will be required when not actively eating or drinking, and tables will be limited to six people. We will also be providing “stoplight” stickers to indicate your social comfort level.

In an effort to increase access to the NPD celebration, this year’s event is being offered through a “pay what you can” model. On the registration page, you will see the value associated with each ticket option. If you are able, please consider donating above the suggested value to cover the costs of those who are unable to pay to attend.

Keynote Speaker and CCF Principles Workshop Facilitator

Michelle_Headshot_in_LA.jpgMichelle Shireen Muri
Co-Founder and Co-Chair of Community-Centric Fundraising

Creator and host of The Ethical Rainmaker Podcast

Michelle is a fundraising consultant with the woman of color collective Freedom Conspiracy which uses a community-centered lens to look at the strategies and tactics of day-to-day fundraising. Her podcast, The Ethical Rainmaker, explores the ways in which the nonprofit and philanthropy sectors are complicit in colonization, and the ways we can work to undo those systems of oppression.

Bringing passion and vision for how the third sector can do better, Michelle has partnered with movement leaders and organizations who inspire social change, like Edgar Villanueva and the Decolonizing Wealth Project, Code2040, Columbia Legal Services, Designing Justice + Designing Spaces, Northwest Harvest, Launch and others.

Michelle enjoys helping individuals and organizations explore their emotional narratives around money and develop awareness of how those narratives affect the movements they serve.

2021 National Philanthropy Day Award Honorees

Matthew "Nur-D" Allen
"Living out philanthropy on the front lines"

Tomme Beevas
"Convening those on the frontlines of economic, social and political liberation"

Ashley Kilcher
"Looking at philanthropy through a different lens"

Mallory Mitchell
"Advancing racial equity in fundraising and philanthropy"

Springboard for the Arts
"Celebrating artists as essential for vibrant and just local economies"

John Sullivan
"Corporate leader bolstering nonprofits with his skills, experiences, and resources"

2021 Sponsors







Interested in Sponsorship/Advertisement?

Questions about the event?

Please contact the AFP Minnesota Chapter office at or 952-444-6361
View previous National Philanthropy Day Award Winners